Pedals cleats and shoes

craigus89
craigus89 Posts: 887
edited December 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm going to be getting a Giant Defy 4 or 5 in the very near future, but have got a couple of questions as I'm new to the road.

I would like to get some proper pedals/shoes/cleats but I'm a little confused. The pedals on the Defy are "Wellgo with toe-clip" which I assume aren't much cop. I can't figure out what comes with what, do cleats come with the pedals or shoes? D you get cleat specific shoes?

If I bought these pedals: http://www.bicyclechain.co.uk/product/s ... -blk/04228 will most shoes be usable with them?

Despite being a bit bewildered I'm mega excited about getting out on the road.

Cheers

Comments

• majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094
    Cleats normally come with pedals. Occasionally (e.g. in the case of some cut price ebay shops) they are omitted, but they should say if they are.

Any 3 bolt road shoe will be compatible with those. (Not a 2 bolt mtb shoe.)
  • Craigus89 wrote:
    Hi all

I'm going to be getting a Giant Defy 4 or 5 in the very near future, but have got a couple of questions as I'm new to the road.

I would like to get some proper pedals/shoes/cleats but I'm a little confused. The pedals on the Defy are "Wellgo with toe-clip" which I assume aren't much cop. I can't figure out what comes with what, do cleats come with the pedals or shoes? D you get cleat specific shoes?

If I bought these pedals: http://www.bicyclechain.co.uk/product/s ... -blk/04228 will most shoes be usable with them?

Despite being a bit bewildered I'm mega excited about getting out on the road.

Cheers
    Clipless pedals are great. You can get R540s much cheaper at Merlin: http://www.merlincycles.com/bike-shop/r ... dals.html; they also stock the next level up (R550s) at only £32.50.