First time I've ever seen the police help the cyclists

jibberish
jibberish Posts: 151
edited December 2013 in Commuting general
I've been cycling through London daily for the last 7 years. Today was the first time I ever saw the police favour the cyclists. A rare treat - and sad that it's taken the recent events in London to bring this about.

I was on my way home and travelling through Putney. I pulled up to the lights just past the ASL at the main cross roads junction near the Railway Pub: here

The lights are red and a car pulls up alongside me crossing the ASL. 2 police right there - and I thought here we go - nothing will happen. I was amazed - I was completely wrong.

The police took his number and told him to pull over at the other side of the junction.

I thanked the police as did another cyclist next to me. The policeman told me that they'd been there 30 minutes and already pulled 20 over for crossing the ASL.

I'm fairly certain that I've read that no motorist has ever previously been stopped / fined for crossing the ASL. The police won't publish the stats - they're bundled in with other offences which hide that this never happens. When they get asked why nobody has been done on camera - they hide behind that old line about "oh well if they cross the ASL when the lights are green and then get stuck when they turn red - then that's not illegal."

Seeing this is a first for me. Never felt like they would do anything other than pull cyclists for RLJ. Hope this continues. Maybe someone might even get done for texting whilst overtaking cyclists. :-)

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Crossing the ASL is the same offending as jumping a red light, so of course you can't tell which is which.

By the sounds of it you also exited the Box across the second stop line on red, also a criminal offence?