Tomorrow will be my 1st proper 'winter' ride

Claud Roubaix
Claud Roubaix Posts: 76
edited December 2013 in Road beginners
But I am a perturbed what clothing to wear - concerned that I will wear too much tbh.
I have just purchased one of Aldis new Performance cycling jacket (jersey), would I wear a base layer plus a short sleeved jersey or just the base layer underneath?
I have a couple of good quality base layers a thicker one from Peak UK and a thinner Nike one.

Help a complete novice here - what would you recommend?

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    If the jerseys not wind proof I would wear a thick base layer and a jersey at the very least, it really depends how much you feel the cold.
  • base layer, short sleeved jersey and the performance jersey? It is supposedly windproof.
  • diamonddog
    I have a couple of their Winter jackets @ £16 and they are excellent, if it is as good as these are I normally wear just a base layer under them. I have found that when the temperature is really low ie <4 degrees I need the thicker base layer.
  • diamonddog
    Last week on one ride the temp was 4 degrees and with wind chill felt like 2 according to Garmin and my ears, I had a thin base layer under the jacket and could feel the cold a bit but not too bad.
    Enjoy your ride. :)
  • dabber
    dabber Posts: 1,924
    Tbh no one can really advise you. It will depend on a lot of variables such as:
    temperature - Sunday is forecast to range between about 7 and 9 degrees at midday depending on where you are in the country.
    wind (chill)
    The actual qualities of the clothing options you have.
    Your own personal body reaction to cold.

Once you've ridden a bit you sort of get to know these things and make your own judgements.
    Any advice any of us can give is all very subjective.

One thing to consider though is if you have several layers you have the opportunity to take something off.