A lesson...

nebz
nebz Posts: 6
edited December 2013 in Road beginners
I started riding in August of this year. It was a way to get out, keep fit with friends and something of a present to myself. I have now been cycling for a grand total of 17 weeks and despite some motorists best efforts I've loved it. The feeling of freedom, challenging yourself and just the feeling of being healthy again is fantastic.

I have only had issues with motorists but today i had an unfortunate 'lesson' from another cyclist, which for some reason i feel compelled to share. I must have passed him earlier in my ride because as I caught up with him again he swerved into the middle of the road and challenged me saying "why are you riding like a c**t?". Bearing in mind i always wave, tilt my head or shout hello to any passing cyclist i was a tad confused. It turns out that I'm not allowed to overtake anyone during winter training? He sped off and a couple of miles later he'd slowed down and waved me to his side. I explained that i was new to cycling and asked why i can't cycle to my pace - I admit i do push myself but coming from a national level in swimming it's how i've always trained. (I realise that most people are far quicker than me but i don't race having only taken up cycling 17 weeks ago and I'm on my bike to challenge myself and get fitter I'm not interested in anything else.) Again the answer was "no", apparently i have to abide by his/the rules and that winter training is all about base miles and i can't overtake... I was then told i was free wheeling him and off he sped...