suitable cassette for 8 speed

monastery
monastery Posts: 11
edited December 2013 in Road beginners
I am going to upgrade my drivetrain for my 8 speed bicycle, with a view to enhancing its road performance. I have purchased a new 8 speed chainset (52-40-32):

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/shim ... -prod40623

I have also purchased this chain:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/kmc-x8-99-8-speed-chain/

I have decided on this cassette:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/sram-pg850-8-speed-cassette/

However, I can't decide on which ratio. I live in Cambridge which is pretty flat, I am in reasonable shape and stay in high gears but I am no pro racer. I am more interested in improving speed than climbing hills.

The options for this cassette are:

11-28
11-30
11-32
12-23
12-26

From what I have read the 11 teeth options are not that beneficial. That leaves 12-23 and 12-26, with the latter being better for when you do have some hills to navigate, but having a narrower range has some other advantages. Does anyone have opinions as too whether I should go for the 12-23 or 12-26 cassette?

Many thanks

Comments

• elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Personally and for no other reason I would go for the 12-26 because if you do come across hills it may be more useful than a 23.You say your more interested in speed so being slower up hills (on a 23) will reduce your average speed , as time lost going slower up hills can,t be got back.
    Like I said, thats what I would do.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    None of the above for me. You want as narrow a range as possible to minimise the gaps between gears. I'd keep the 11t as a 52x11 feels great with a good tail wind or a downhill slope. On my triple I run an 11-25 ten speed and it's great, 25 will get you up anything with a triple. So I'd search for a different cassette.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.