Shortening steerer tube

TomTheHairyBiker
TomTheHairyBiker Posts: 22
edited November 2013 in MTB general
Good evening all,

I have just bought some new rockshox SID's for my cotic soul frame that i am slowly putting together. As this is my first build, this is all new to me, but from what i can see, the steerer tube seems far too long and i want to know if its is possible to shorten it, and if so, is it something that my LBS can do?

regards,
Tom

Comments

• JMcP92
    JMcP92 Posts: 339
    Tom,

Aye, your LBS will do it, it's not complex, it is very literally a matter of a bit of measurement and cutting the top off it, just be sure you get the right level before you get it chopped, take more off, can't put it back on ;)
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Yep measure twice, cut once. And measure again just in case.

The just use a hacksaw. It doesn't have to be a perfect cut as nothing touches the top of the steerer.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The steerer tube needs to be 2-3mm lower than the top of the stem so the top cap doesn't foul the steerer. If in doubt cut it longer than you need and use a couple of spacers above the stem until you know for definite at what height you will want your stem and bars.

Also, if you are using spacers between the headtube and stem don't forget to take them into account. I measured about 3 times, almost started to cut then measured again......then cut.
  • Matt-r8
    Matt-r8 Posts: 298
    Might be worth keeping it at the length for a bit, and experimenting with spacers to see exactly where you want the stem. What seems perfectly fine when sat in the shop, might be massively different after several hours in the saddle. Just an idea ;)
  • CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    A hacksaw is far too much effort, use a Dremel and leave enough steerer for some 5mm or 10mm spacers.
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012