New to Road cycling and need help!

AmyW
AmyW Posts: 4
edited November 2013 in Women's cycling forum
Hello.

I am new to the world of Road Cycling and have recently bought my first road bike. I took the time to read a lot before hand and used many sites to determine what size bike I required. I am just after advice in the sense of whether or not the bike is the correct size after receiving it. Any help appreciated.

http://i.imgur.com/ipmTUz6.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/Stvpb8J.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/aKhxw11.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/tQSPlnz.jpg

I have supplied a few images on myself on the bike. It feels un-natural as I am very much used to cheap all round cycle cross type bikes. I would just like advice before I decide whether or not this is right.

As it is the seat post is in the location that feels the best although I think with a little confidence I may be able to raise it slightly more.

Comments

• styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Saddle height looks ok, although hard to tell without seeing you pedal the thing!

If you're going to raise it, do it a few mm at a time. I would say having it to low is better than to high though.

You look quite stretched, like the bike is a bit to long for you. You also look like you're sitting quite far back. Try moving the saddle forward a touch. I think you could probably size down and run a longer stem if you wanted though.
  • doug5_10
    doug5_10 Posts: 465
    +1 looks pretty good, try moving the saddle forward on the rails. Can't quite see from the pictures, but if it has a set-back seatpost, you can try an in-line one instead. Thats one spectacular full face helmet you've got!
    Edinburgh Revolution Curve
    http://app.strava.com/athletes/1920048
  • AmyW
    Thanks. So maybe a shorter stem and move the seat forward? Other than that looks ok? Is the seat about right height in frame? I see some have a lot of post showing? Thanks again in advance.
  • doug5_10
    doug5_10 Posts: 465