I'm a cycling novice, any advice welcome!

sticky88
sticky88 Posts: 10
edited November 2013 in Women's cycling forum
Please be gentle with me, I've just joined here following recommendation.

I'm about to get into cycling and road bikes, as my other half is really into it, but I'm more a runner. I've not been on a bike for 20 years (and that was only as a form of commute), and never been on a road bike!

I know nothing about cycling road bike etc, just been window shopping for size, and have yet to gear any gear (attire, shoes etc). Also I have very wide feet, so will need advice on where I should be looking for wide shoes.

I'm a blank canvass, so any advice will be very welcome!

THANKS! :D

Comments

• jaxf
    jaxf Posts: 109
    hope you enjoy it! and you can stay cycling for way longer than running (I have shot knees)
    I have wide feet and a narrow heel, and find Mavic have been good shoes for me. My sister also has wide feet and NorthWave. I think that there is no substitute for going to your LBS and trying a few on. I know that this can be difficult as many shops don't really stock women's shoes.
    As your partner is a roadie, presumably, he will give you a kit list, and you are more looking for the women's specific stuff? I think that when you are starting and not sure if you will really love it, VFM kit is a good way to go, so DHB from Wiggle is reasonable. Now I cycle more, I am willing to pay whatever it takes for a decent chamois - Assos and Rapha are my friends. Chamois cream is also worthwhile.
    The main difference for me is a women's specific saddle - many 'women's' bikes don't come with them. I went from ** TMI warning ** blood after any more than 30 miles to fine for 80 when I changed saddle, so make sure you get something comfortable.
    I would recommend a bike fit to get something comfortable and suitable.