Mtb or road biking?

Roboleeds
Roboleeds Posts: 43
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
I've been biking now for about 3 years,I started with road biking and after getting my fitness to a reasonable standard entered a few sportives and totally enjoyed them.i decided last winter to get a mtb to keep up my fitness during the cold months and became totally hooked,selling my carbon Trek and buying a 29 er Giant in its place.I have since spent a fortune in up-grades (namely Sram XX 1).i have now reached a point where I am think that giving up road biking was a mistake and am now longing to get back out on the road.My quandary is should I concentrate on one discipline,and if so,which one.just wondered if anyone else out there has had this predicament,thoughts please.

Comments

• Yeh think you might have a good point there,spent this week on my road bike and noticed straight away how my climbing had improved after doing mtb for the last year.I was up the Chase last week and could not believe how many bikers were about,might have a bash myself next year.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    If you have the money and time do both. They give you a very different work out. MTB is more bike handling skills and power based where as road biking is smoother more controlled riding just below the point where you blow up.

Nice to have the choice.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    I have road bikes, CX bikes and MTBs - if you want to get stronger and fitter, ride road. If you want to develop good bike handling skills, ride CX. If you want to have fun with your mates, ride MTB ;-)
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    I'm doing both now, though mostly Road. The MTB is just easier to get on with for a casual ride with my brother and his little one, and I'm doing some bridleway riding with it too.
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava