Clothing suggestions for winter

richmarriott84
richmarriott84 Posts: 4
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm pretty new to road cycling, I got my first bike at the end of last winter and remember how cold it could get! I really want to keep cycling though the winter months as I've really enjoyed this summer but I have a few problems...

Clothing is a minefield, what do I need to keep at the right temp? Last year I couldn't get the balance right, that added micro fleece sometimes too much and sometimes not enough. Mainly my feet and hands were freezing!!

Next... is it me or do all cyclists have really deep pockets? I'm trying to keep costs as low as possible and looking at some of the gear will need to take out a second mortgage. I did invest in some dhb bib shorts which have been brilliant and have been using my mtb bontranger gloves but they are no way warm enough!

Basically I want some really good winter gear on a budget (if that exists).

Thanks in advance
Rich

Comments

• Also does everyone stick with the same tyres in the winter? Suggestions on this welcome too :)
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    I can wear up to 4 layers. My base layer in winter is a thermal long sleeve top from M&S - I think I bought 2 for £20. Then a long sleeved cycling top from Aldi - I have a few that have been going for years that cost about £10 each. I have a thin Bontranger gilet that cost £25 a few years ago, and then a thin Endura jacket that cost about £70 last year. If it gets warmer during the ride both top layers can come off and fit in my back pocket. Also wear Aldi winter gloves - bought for about £6 a few years ago, and I also wear cheap Aldi leg warmers under my shorts. That lot usually keeps me warm in all but the very worst of weather.
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    You don't have to spent a fortune and you just mix and match, It can be hard to find that happy medium where you don't freeze or fry.