Hill Climbing on Smaller Hills with Bigger Gears

ianwilliams
ianwilliams Posts: 257
I'm new to this whole thing, and I'm looking for a decent hill within 10 minutes of my house in Leeds.

I can't find a decent hill that close, but I can find some smaller inclines. Is there any reason why climbing a smaller incline in a bigger gear would not be good for hill repeats?

BTW, I live in Leeds city centre. If anyone knows a decent training hill within 10 mins of there then shout!

Thanks

Comments

• 10 minutes? You don't ask for much!

Try this instead http://goo.gl/maps/ExGIm
  • Tom Dean
    Tom Dean Posts: 1,723
    No, but it depends on what you are trying to achieve. The important variables are effort level and duration. What gear you use doesn't matter.
  • As what Tom said, what are you trying to achieve?

Riding at 400w up hill in 53x11 will still be 400w at 39x25...
  • BTW, I live in Leeds city centre. If anyone knows a decent training hill within 10 mins of there then shout!

Wesley Street or Crows Nest Lane. Not very long but should get you blowing.
  • Good Old Norwood Edge!

I struggle to dedicate more than an hour on weeknights at the moment. I'm also not a confident descender in the wet, so that rules something like Norwood Edge out. I could dedicate more time but that would mean sacrificing other things that, in all honesty, I'm not able/prepared to do so.

I'm looking for something high-intensity and local, so as little time spent getting to the hill/place for repeats. I want to get better at hill climbing too, its a big weakness of mine.

These are probably the best local options for me. They're all about 5 miles from home:

http://www.strava.com/segments/1487206
    http://www.strava.com/segments/1174154
    http://www.strava.com/segments/949827
    http://www.strava.com/segments/993048

Any ideas or is the turbo going to be best for this type of stuff?
  • Tom Dean wrote: