Flat pedals on a road bike

therealdeal0_5
therealdeal0_5 Posts: 30
edited October 2013 in Road beginners
Just bought my first road bike for many years. Managed to pick up a nice 2012 Merida Race Lite 904 very reasonably and its come with a set of Crank Brothers Candy Egg Beater Pedals. I don't have any special shoes and don't really want to go down that route yet so wanting to put a set of flat pedals on instead of the egg beaters so would be grateful of any recommendations in the flat pedal department. Cant wait to get out and put a few miles on the bike and just wondering if I could try using the egg beaters with normal shoes or would this damage them at all? Apologies but I am a complete newbie to the world of modern road bikes and haven't had a 'drop handle bar' as we called them back in the day for many years

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    They don't like the sort of pedals you could use with normal shoes. Until you are ready to try 'clipless' pedals, you could try flat touring pedals or you could try these:
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/a530-touring-pedals-ec008662
    as clip-in on one side and flat on the other. I was nervous about moving to clipless at first but I started with double-sided Shimano SPDs, which are really MTB pedals but are easier to use than pure road bike pedals, and I still use them rather than one-sided road pedals.
  • I was nervous about moving to clipless at first but I started with double-sided Shimano SPDs, which are really MTB pedals but are easier to use than pure road bike pedals, and I still use them rather than one-sided road pedals.

Same here - can't see any reason to move to road pedals at the mo - I like the double sided MTB ones
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    Cant wait to get out and put a few miles on the bike and just wondering if I could try using the egg beaters with normal shoes or would this damage them at all?