Values of secondhand bikes?

nugget
nugget Posts: 7
edited October 2013 in Road buying advice
I'm new to road bikes and have been exploring the second hand market (eBay and in here). How much do bikes depreciate?

I've got my eye on a Giant Avail (2009) which would have been around £675rrp. In immaculate condition, what is top dollar these days?
ian scanlan

Comments

• jotko
    jotko Posts: 457
    In my stingy Scottish eyes I want to be paying 50% of RRP buying secondhand, even if it is had just been rolled home from the bike shop.
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    I've just bought a bike off eBay for the winter, if you're patient and know what you want to pay you'll get something cheap.
    I found that you get 40 - 60% off the original price if the bike was 12 of 36 mths old and in vgc, pick up only bikes seem to go cheaper because there's less market.
    It's always worth making a cheeky offer telling them that you'll pay cash on collection, the seller will save money on charges so it can sway them and you get to have a good look around the bike.
    I saw a mint 2012 carbon Giant TCR with Ultegra go for £750, 2012 Boardmans, Cubes.and Giants with Shimano 105 usually went for between £500 and £600.
    Just take your time.
  • Be patient as its taken me 6 weeks to find the right bike at the right price. I was getting frustrated not being able to find the right bike near enough to me and had agreed a deal on a basic Cube Peloton when I found a 105 specced bike badly listed on Gumtree cheap as chips. Needs a clean and a set of pedals and i'm in business!!
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Patient? I was searching almost daily for my dream frame in my size for nearly 6 years! However, last week! Frame was 3k new.

50% is always a good guide if in vgc, a little more for a premium brand.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614