nothing fancy my first bike in years

swod1
swod1 Posts: 1,639
edited October 2013 in Your mountain bikes
Hello newbie here,

Got back into mountain biking may last year after not having been on a bike for over 10 years

Nothing too fancy to start with so i have a trek 4500.

Pretty standard apart from the dmr v8 flat pedals, fsa riser handlebars and tyres which is xr4 front 2.2 and groundcontrol s-works rear.

034bc.jpg

The front end is a little heavy so wondering whether to replace later with some recon gold 100mm air shocks ?

how do you like the mud on it from last weeks outing on local tracks :mrgreen:

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    I started back with a Trek 4500 and it served me really well. I put Rebas on and they really made a huge difference. I since changed everything else on it (including the frame).

Have fun with that, I know I did with mine.
  • swod1
    Yeah I've looked at rebas they are about 300 online and being 1500g will make a big difference.

I was also looking at getting some superstar wheels with the superleggara hubs, keeping the original wheels for road riding.
  • SUPERSUTT
    SUPERSUTT Posts: 292
    hey nice bike and at least you got it dirty thats the main thing
    falling off doesn't hurt....its the landing that hurts

FS Giant Trance X3 (2013)
    FS Specialized Camber 2011 (2011)=(stolen)
    HT Merlin Malt one (sold)
  • I went from the 2.6kg Suntours to 1700g Reba Teams and the difference is HUGE. Transformed my bike in terms of weight, handling and feel. Definately the most significant improvement over all the other upgrades that I have made
  • mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    swod1 wrote:
    Yeah I've looked at rebas they are about 300 online and being 1500g will make a big difference.

I got mine for about £230, they do come up for this price at times. They made such a massive difference, not just the weight saving but the performance of them is superb.
    swod1 wrote: