Upgrading 2005 kona coiler help plz

Maccafrumtarn
Maccafrumtarn Posts: 8
edited October 2013 in MTB general
Hi I am fairly new to the mtb world so please be gentle I recently bought a gt avalanche 2.0 which I enjoyed but soon learned it could not cope with the drops and downhill I was doing so I have purchase myself an stock 2005 kona coiler as a base and I am looking to completely upgrade part by part mostly used parts its is currently stock as sold all those years back stats are.
http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/Bike ... del=Coiler
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.read on another forum should be looking at these but alteratives would be greatly appreciated Cranks - Shimano SLX
Chain - Sram PC 991
Chain Guide - E13 LG1+
Cassette - sram PG 970
Derailleur - Sram X9
Shifter - Sram X7
Brakes - Shimano SLX
Fork - Fox 36 Van R/totem/domain/lyrik/66
Shock - Fox DHX 5.0/4.0
Ps frame has just been powder coated so all stickers removed where is best place to get replace not stickers/decals.
Many thanks
Macca

Comments

• Just don't spend too much on it. The Coiler isn't a very good frame. For what those parts are going to cost you could just buy a better bike.
  • What freeride frame would you recommend I need 4 inch travel maybe 5 tops.
  • Just don't spend too much on it. The Coiler isn't a very good frame. For what those parts are going to cost you could just buy a better bike.
    Those bits will cost a fair bit and as above you may have been better to save for the bike you wanted. Does the drivetrain even need replacing? If it's ok keep what you have.
  • Not majorly no brakes are gd and drivetrain the ones I wanna change are front and rear sus front anything air 140mm-150mm travel must have adjust and rear shocks I need summat decent with 500lb spring then would be good started bike for me.
    As you can tell I am still learning the above parts was a reply to someone's post on pink bike so cheap but quality alteratives would be great.
    Thanks macca