What bike should I get for £350

Leon.currie
Leon.currie Posts: 6
edited October 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi was thinking of getting a mountain bike, I am a complete beginner and could do with some advice. I have seen a saracen mantra reduced to £ 359 and was wondering if this was a good bike or good value, not into anything too serious just want a decent bike. Also looked at a cube aim 26, is this decent or which one do you think is better?

Comments

• Have you got links to the bikes?

Are you only after new or is 2nd hand an option?
  • New was what I was after, no links, just bikes reduced in a local bike shop, they also had an avanti montari 26.2 , never heard of the brand so don't know what they are like, I see that realcycles.com have the same bikes at same price.
  • I would look on sites like Pauls cycles or Chain reaction for discounted bikes...
    http://www.paulscycles.co.uk/m1b0s2p405 ... -COMP-2012
    Is an example of a £500 bike that now fits your budget. The problem is you dont get a lot of bike for your money when you are on a budget that low but you do get to go out and enjoy what you have and if you like it then you can move up.

The other option is of course eBay and I got my Orange Crush for £465 and it is like new so I have saved close to £1000 on a bike that has had very little use and is almost like new..

vtcw.jpg
  • Hi was thinking of getting a mountain bike, I am a complete beginner and could do with some advice. I have seen a saracen mantra reduced to £ 359 and was wondering if this was a good bike or good value, not into anything too serious just want a decent bike. Also looked at a cube aim 26, is this decent or which one do you think is better?