Between frame size - go big or small?

paddlemyowncanoe
paddlemyowncanoe Posts: 265
edited September 2013 in Road buying advice
I have been using 56cm frames for 10 years and am going to a compact Tarmac SL4 and have had a fitting. It looks like if I go with a 56 I'll show 20+cm of seatpost and a need a 130mm -6 degree stem. Or I could go with a 58 and run a 17cm seatpost and 110 -17 degree stem (the headtube is 3cm taller vs the 56).

Which would be the better ride? I race a lot.

Comments

• Wouldn't that smaller bike be twitchy as hell?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    Wouldn't that smaller bike be twitchy as hell?

I wouldn't have thought so. What will make a bike twitchy is a short stem, so going for a bike that's a bit too big is more likely to result in that problem. I've always been told that if you're between sizes, you should go for the smaller one because it's easy to make a small bike fit with a longer stem and more seatpost showing, but hard to make a big one fit. It's worked for me.
  • t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    Choose a different brand / bike that fits you better without compromising something. The best bike is the one that fits you best.
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem
  • If you can get the same position on both bikes then it makes little difference which one you choose. The 58 might be a little heavier than the 56 but it won't be much.

However, you mentioned the head tube being 30mm taller on the 58 so this might have some relevance to how you fit onto the bikes. If you like a high "seat to bars" drop then you will need to choose the 56 conversely to reduce the drop then choose the 58. Of course these can be adjusted by removing the spacers but they won't have the same range as the head tubes are different.
  • Supergoose