Advice on upgrades to 2013 Hardrock disc

impromento
impromento Posts: 18
edited October 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi all and cheers for looking at this post..

I wouldn't say im a newbie or anything - more like a long lost friend... as up until a few years ago, I was always on my bike (albeit a claud butler enduro bought in 1994!) - which I deeply regret getting rid of :(

Anyway, being a new dad (as many of you will undoubtedly know) is absolutely knackering, add that to the fact that im now in my 30's and have a few extra pounds that i need to shift - i need to get fit again -so I decided that it was the perfect time to get back into it and i picked up a 2013 specialized hardrock disc 26 in the sales.

Love the bike, but already finding that most of the components will need upgrading sooner rather than later as the bike gets more use and things start getting a little tougher than canal paths and the local woods!

looking around, the options are endless and the cost of some bits are making my eyes water, so my question is this...

can you guys recommend some upgrades for the brakes, shocks and gears for a guy on a budget...

im not looking for the newest and coolest stuff - i just want descent kit that will do me well for a few years to come.

any thoughts, comments gratefully received

cheers

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Without knowing the current spec it's hard to say, but probably the forks would be a good start.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Hi,

Depends on your budget. I have an older one (2008 sport) which I was trying to get near the weight of my lightish rockhopper without costing the earth but with what I would call decent components.