Riding down stairs/stone slabs

KaRsKiN
KaRsKiN Posts: 31
edited September 2013 in MTB general
So I rode my first 'proper' MTB trail yesterday at Sherwood Pines. On the Kitchener trail.

I had a right laugh! Loved it, and I think I handled it pretty well considering I've never done anything remotely technical before. I even went down the 'downhill' track a few times.

I've got a question about some of the features on the downhill track though. I don't know what they're called exactly and I didn't get a picture but they're essentially a shallow staircase made up of stone slabs; each slab is about a foot down from the next one and there's several in a row.

I'm not really sure of the best way to ride over them. I just got my speed up, stayed nice and loose and hit them head on. I got down them fine but I'm just wondering if there's a better way of doing it? Especially since I'm riding a hardtail, anything I could do to absorb the impact a bit more would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Sounds about right.

In general treat steps in the same way you would a slope of a similar gradient. Weight a bit back, but not too far so that you still have some room for movement if anything unexpected comes up
    Bikes:
    Cannondale Killer V 1995 (Promo model) - My first Race bike now converted to a commuter
    Lapierre X-Flow 712 - XC fs rocket
    Pivot Mach 6 - Enduro Machine
    Pinarello FP2 - Roadie
  • Yeah that's pretty much what I did.

Does it help to try and lift the front wheel as you come off each step so that you're landing with the wheels flat?
  • From the sounds of it you hit pretty much perfect, stay loose and let your arms and knees take some impact and you'll be fine.

Well done for not bottling it either!
    Advocate of disc brakes.
  • From the sounds of it you hit pretty much perfect, stay loose and let your arms and knees take some impact and you'll be fine.

Well done for not bottling it either!

It's the only way to learn isn't it?