Complete starter in Leeds

Obitim
Obitim Posts: 26
edited September 2013 in Commuting general
Morning all!

I'm really new to this cycling business but have decided that I want to get fit/do my bit for the environment and most importantly save some cash so I have joined the Cycle to Work scheme.

A bit about me first of all:
I live in Leeds and will be commuting from Horsforth to Seacroft hospital, I've seen a couple of routes but the best seems to be to make my way to the canal path to Bridge Water place and then towards the A64 but anyone suggest any other routes?

I'm a total newbie when it comes to bikes (I used to commute the 3 miles to my old job about 10 years ago but that bike was old and knackered then!) so am looking to buying a bike and kit. I've read the guides and have an idea of what sort of bike I'd like and also the kit I should be looking for but still have a couple of questions:

1) Where would be best to go for a bike and gear? I've checked the types of stores and my choice is either an Evans cycle store or a local triathlon store in Horsforth. I'd think Evans would have more choice but I'd get a better level of service in the store in Leeds and they're local for tune ups?

2) I'm probably going for a hybrid or a cyclocross...if anyone knows a decent route, which would be better?

3) In terms of gear I'm going to invest in some LED's, a light to see by (as I reckon the canal path would be decent) and a high vis jacket and helmet (didn't used to wear one, I know better now!). I've got a rucksack at the moment which I'll probably be using for the meantime.

Any help is much appreciated!

Cheers!

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506