1500 miles in 15 days?

hill_struggler
hill_struggler Posts: 32
edited September 2013 in Tour & expedition
I am planning a 1500 mile charity ride next May. I plan to cycle the route of my step-fathers life from Austria to Germany to Holland down through the UK ending up in the Dordogne, France.

I have a few questions so any help and advice would be very much appreciated:

What type of bike should I get, road or touring? - I ride a mountain bike so a complete newbie when it comes to the road!

How much should I spend on a bike?

What kit will I need? I'm planning to camp along the way as much as possible.

I've been reading quite a few blogs on distance cycling but still can't find a list of must haves.

How much training between now and then am I going to have to do? I would say I'm comfortably fitter than average but cycling 100 miles a day is something completely different for me!

Thanks!

Comments

• simonhead
    simonhead Posts: 1,399
    Theres a guy on here called Tom Bruce, have a read of his book, it will give you a good starting point. 100 miles in a day is a good distance and achievable but its the doing it on censecutive days that takes its toll.

If it was me I would go for comfort over speed and look at a flat bar touring or hybrid with some really solid wheels.

Get out as much as you can on the bike, try and knock of a couple of consecutive 100 milers taking full kit and camping.
    Life isnt like a box of chocolates, its like a bag of pic n mix.
  • Brilliant thank you! Will check out Tom Bruce now. Best get on the case asap!