Upgrading a Landrover Khartoum

shaddaz
shaddaz Posts: 15
edited September 2013 in The workshop
Well after a long time getting fat and eating pizza maybe not in that order I have started using my bike again and i am enjoying it

so this weekend I changed the tyres over to some Schwalbe City Jet 26 x 1.95 see how I get on with them

anyway on a 3 mile commute that i am doing atm I have a 60m difference going low high low again what I am considering is changing the front crank as it is using a 22 32 etc now i dont use the 22 at all unless off road and I dont do that any more so what I am wondering

Is it possible to remove the 22 and move the others down adding a 50(ish) to the mix ?

as you can see I am still a bit of a noob so noob talk required lol

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    shaddaz wrote:
    I have a 60m difference going low high low again

/Bekindtonewbie/ Sorry, what?

What's wrong with your bike? Do you run out of gears?

Just enjoy riding your bike :D
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    His commute descesnd 60m and then rises 60m so he finishes at about the same altitude, not really relevant as it's gradient that matters.

You can remove the 222, but the others can't shift down as they are a different mounting size.

With a 42T front and an 11T rear you can hit well over 30mph, so do you really need more gears or do you need to learn to pedal at the right speed (which is 80-90 rpm not the circa 50rpm most people naturally think is right).
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • shaddaz
    The Rookie wrote:
    His commute descesnd 60m and then rises 60m so he finishes at about the same altitude, not really relevant as it's gradient that matters.

You can remove the 222, but the others can't shift down as they are a different mounting size.