Ragley Frame Size Advice

colinbeveridge
colinbeveridge Posts: 8
edited August 2013 in MTB buying advice
Im looking to buy a Ragley Marley or Piglet but dont know if I should get an 18" or 20" frame. Im a smidgen over 6 foot, I've been riding my trusty Stumpjumper FSR (large) for the last 9 years and its time to upgrade.

Ive never been on a long travel hardtail and no shop stocks Ragley up here in Scotland so I cannae get a shot of one!

I generally ride in bike parks and local trails but I dont want to feel too cramped on the bike so I can go on longer rides if need be.. Ive been comparing the geo's against my current bike and there aint much in it in terms of top tube length and such like..

Also is there much of a difference between the piglet and the marley, I know the geo's are the same, I decided to go for the aluminium Marley to keep the weight down and I thought a steel frame might be a bit over kill for me as Im old and dont launch off 7ft drop offs..

Has anyone got an opinion on this?

Ta muchly!

Comments

• pesky_jones
    pesky_jones Posts: 2,890
    18"

Im a bit over 6' aswell and ride a 16" (medium) long travel hardtail for freeridey and downhill stuff. Its perfect size for me and I think an 18"(large) would of been too big for me. For XC riding just wack the saddle right up and it's fine.
  • You ride a 16"? What its like riding uphill?

It's a totally new world for me this, Im used to riding xc bikes..

And cheers for the advice!
  • pesky_jones
    Not too bad surprisingly, but I just push up to save energy! Long travel hardtails aren't really for going up hills.

Yeah I ride a 16", my mate is about 6' 5 and he rides the same frame in the same size as me as well.

TBH, I'd really make an effort to have a go on a couple of LT HTs to find out your preferences.
  • brucie45
    brucie45 Posts: 279