Friction burns

isimba
isimba Posts: 44
edited September 2013 in Training, fitness and health
I have been cycling for around 2 and 1/2 years and recently I have developed what look likes friction burns on the top of my legs and side of my balls. I am probably doing around the same miles are last summer - going to be just shy of 200 miles this month - I have never used that lube cream you can get. Any ideas why it is occouring now and never before?

The only thing I can think of it the padded shorts I use have lost their shape (nearing two years old). I have been using sudacrem but it doesn't seem to help. I think I will have a week off running and cycling and see if it heals. Any suggestions on what would help it heal?

Comments

• dnwhite88
    dnwhite88 Posts: 285
    Time off til it's healed then chamois creme. After 2 years those shorts don't owe you anything so may be an idea to get some new ones
    "It never gets easier, you just go faster"
  • mac-cos
    mac-cos Posts: 80
    I'm no expert but word from the missus who as a nurse is up on infection control, is that normal washing doesnt kill bacteria even at hot temps, what does is steam ironing. Could be your shorts are a bacteria farm and the rubbing is cause the sores. Shes also not a fan of sudacrem and gets to treat lots of peoples @rs sores as part of her job (nice), air , cleaning and avoiding it being sweaty may help, this is what I'm doing while waiting for a small @rs boil/abscess to clear up. ps if it becomes infected due to the location trip to GP/antibiotics maybe needed .
  • isimba
    isimba Posts: 44
    Yeah, I think I will use this as an excuse to get some bib shorts. I will keep off it for a week and see if it improves if not take myself to the doctor.

I have put some liquid skin on it today to see if that helps but I dont think it is infected. Will keep my eye on it. Although not too much as that might look a little off if I was always looking at my balls.
  • dilemna