Oxo's Nukeproof Mega (Update 29/4/15) Gone coil!

oxocube1
oxocube1 Posts: 651
edited May 2015 in Your mountain bikes
***Latest update page 3***

I've been riding the Spesh for 18 months now, and had the 140s on it for the past 12. It's a great bike and I love riding it, but a medium frame for all 6'2" of me is just too small now and I'm starting to feel it on the longer rides.

I started looking for a new, large FS frame with bigger travel a few months back and wasn't desperate, so I would only get something if I really, really liked it. Then up popped this Nukeproof Mega frame on PB and I had to have it! Since it came out, I have really liked the look of the Mega 2012 frame and heard a lot of good things about it. So I bit the bullet and bought it back in June.

Unfortunately since then I have had my car breakdown (for the final time) and had to get a new one, and went to the US for 3 weeks for our Honeymoon. So now my bank account is a little empty and what I wanted to be made for the summer is now looking like it won't be built up until the winter. The only part I need is some 160mm Forks but I will have to save a little each month/sell some of my spare parts due to the lack of funds.

The idea is to have the Mega running 160/150mm travel for trail centres, trips to Scotland/Wales etc. Then up the travel to 120mm on my Haro HT for local riding and the occasional ride to work

Once I have some forks (ideally RS Lyriks), I will be selling the Spesh frame and Float 140s, then transferring everything else over to the Mega.

Here's what I have so far:

The Frame
IMG_1532_zps2fb2c151.jpg
IMG_1531_zpsc4516017.jpg
IMG_1530_zps3022fd23.jpg
IMG_1528_zpsd94a6ef5.jpg

2012 Nukeproof Generator Hubs that I got for a bargain price off eBay.
IMG_1524_zps03f591d7.jpg

Brand new set of Mavic EN521 rims courtesy of some CRC vouchers.
IMG_1533_zps27c80606.jpg
IMG_1534_zps015a2bf3.jpg

The spec will be as follows:

Frame: 2012 Nukeproof Mega AM Large
Forks: TBD