Pyrenees Ride - Write Up & Pictures

e17blade
e17blade Posts: 215
edited August 2013 in Tour & expedition
My family holiday was in the Pyrenees this year and I thought it would be mad to not take the opportunity to have my first taste of riding in proper mountains. Here is the write up of my day. Pictures added in a later post too.

=============================================================================

Pyrenees Ride

I have always loved the mountain stages of The Tour de France. As a kid. As an adult. Always with the same thought in my head. I should do that one day. That day is today.

The train glides on from Foix. Forty minutes up the valley to Ax-les-Thermes. To where the real mountains begin. The Pyrenees. I sit on the floor of the carriage. My bike leaning on the wall. I sip my early morning coffee. Supressing a mild sense of panic. I’m a half decent bike rider. But I have never done anything like this before.

Hills are my strength. Hills that is. Not mountains. My local climbs hold no fears. Today is frightening though. Five categorised climbs. One UNcategorised climb. Over a distance of 112km. What was I thinking?

Fail to prepare or prepare to fail. Training done. Technique honed. Advice taken. Rested up and well fuelled. Nice bike hired. With a triple chainset. I am prepared.

The train pulls into Ax-les-Thermes. I step out onto the platform. An early morning chill hangs in the air. All around mountains are capped by swirling cloud. It is incredibly quiet. This is going to be amazing.

I cruise slowly into town. I know what is coming next. Immediately. Left at the roundabout and UP. Steep. Hairpin. Steeper. Hairpin. It goes on and on. Always up. To the village of Ascou. What a view. It’s amazing how quickly you get so high. I feel strong.