Upgrading my Defy

nick9one1
nick9one1 Posts: 22
edited August 2013 in Road buying advice
I'm relatively new to cycling and bought a defy 5 a year ago, and now doing rides of about 100 miles fairly regularly. I really like the bike but its got a few issues I'd like to resolve.

The first was brakes, they're really terrible. When I pull the lever I can 'see' the calipers flexing after the pads have touched the rim. when braking I have to squeeze the brakes really hard. I thought it was probably a combination of caliper and pad. So found a pair of nearly new Ultegra 6600's on ebay for £50 delivered. They come with shoes (which my current ones don't have) and I've also bought some koolstop salmons. - Hopefully that's sorted.

The second thing I'd like to address is the gear shifting. I've had it to a couple of LBS's and they've adjusted the gears as well as they can, but still not perfect. Sometimes it doesnt seem to shift properly, and I have to go up/down or down/up so it doesnt rub. Also the shifters rattle quite a bit.

So I was thinking of upgrading maybe the rear mech and shifters. the bike currently has Shimano 2300 all round. So what options do I have of swapping bits out to Ultegra?

For example, if I bought some 6700 shiters, would they work with my front/rear mechs? or do I need to buy the whole groupset/other bits to make it work?

Thanks!
Nick

Comments

• the other option is just to buy something new on the cycle to work scheme, and use this as a commuter...
  • 2300 is 8 speed. Ultegra 6700 is 10 speed, so pretty much none of the bits will work together, so you're going to have to replace the lot. If upgrading from 2300 I'd personally recommend looking at 105 instead, has the advantages of Ultegra with under bar routing, 10 speed etc, but is a good bit cheaper.
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Keep a check on the classified section here - you can usually pick up some good bargains.