Chainset

davicio
davicio Posts: 45
edited August 2013 in Road buying advice
Hello all.
I know this question has probably been answered millions of times. I've been cycling now for 4-5 years, 3 of which have been at a very good standard. My main bike is Colnago with a base Veloce groupset with FSA chainset and Record Cassette.

It is clear as day my strength as a cyclist is punchy type climbs (<5%) and descents which I seem to top everywhere I go. Problem I have is that my chainset is compact and my cadence is not the greatest. I have looked and looked at upgrading to a bigger chainset. I live in Muswell Hill (blessed with Hills) and I worry about doing a 100km cycle and seriously struggling on the hills. Am I being overly concerned? Swains Lane ascent in London on Strava I am around 140th overall - so I'm not totally rubbish, but it's not my strength.

I do spin out and descents regularly and I do wish I had a bigger gear. Meanwhile on the ascents I never go into the smallest. I'm always in the top chain ring.

I've looked at upgrading to Record or Super Record. But the Super Record is 11 speed. What does this mean and do I have to change a load of parts? I know the chain will be a given, but front deraileur perhaps?

Any tips from those in the know would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Muswell Hill hilly? i guess we'll beg to differ and 5% is an incline not a hill. Not clear whether you want lower or higher gears but suggest you simply need to pedal faster i.e. develop a higher cadence rather than look for bigger gears. BTW spinning out is somewhere about 180rpm - you're likely to be hitting 100rpm. A 50 chainring and 11 sprocket is good for over 60kph - if you're doing that on the flat, better get a race licence!
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094