Cyclocross for Commuting

shaunq
shaunq Posts: 9
edited August 2013 in Commuting chat
Hi everyone, bit of a newbie here! I've spent the past few weeks researching the best bike for my commute to work and still don't seem to know very much! As theres only about a week or so left on my cycle2work scheme I thought I'd ask and see if there is anyone here who could help!

My commute is 6 miles, with it being almost an even split between country lanes, bridlepaths and canal paths. I've always ridden a mountain bike but like the idea of doing some longer rides on the weekends (on the same sort of roads) and was recommended cyclocross bikes. This does appeal to me, though having never ridden a bike in this position I'm hoping it won't take too much getting used to! Because of this I think it would be better for me to have a more relaxed riding geometry. I very much doubt I will ever use it competitively, so bare this in mind with any recommendations, I'd say my preference is comfort and stability (though obviously the faster the better).

I narrowed it down to 5 bikes, all of which have disc brakes...

1) Genesis Croix de Fer - Slightly over budget, but apparently a very versatile bike. I read it was quite heavy for that price, but the 2014 model has just been released at Evans which seems to have addressed some of this, though I'm guessing it will still be a little on the heavy side (the 2013 model may also come down in price).

2) Specialized Tricross Sport Disc - Again, quite versatile, but my research suggests you are paying a premium for the brand and so the components are not particularly good value. However, as it is aimed more at commuters, might suit my needs regarding riding position...

3) Ridley X-Bow - I researched cyclocross a few years ago and these were the number one bike at the time it seemed. My LBS stocks them, so this is an option. Very light, but potentially too racey?