new wheels help

andy 3654
andy 3654 Posts: 183
edited August 2013 in Road general
Just bought some new wheels now i know i need some rim tape and it is sram compatible hub what else will i need kit and fitting wise to do the job. This is my first time doing this so any help and advice would be gratefully received.

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    tyres would be good - and tubes...
  • Tyre levers, or spoons.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    Did the rims not come with rim tape already fitted? What make and model are the wheels? clinchers or tubs?

Do you have a cassette tool to put cassette on rear wheel, and a chain whip if removing from another wheel? Do you have the correct spacer needed depending on the 9-10-11 compatibility issues?
  • andy 3654
    well yes tyres and tubes but i was more on about the hardware side of things.
  • andy 3654
    this is what i bought but just the wheels

http://shop.kinetic-two.co.uk/overstock ... s-97-p.asp
  • smoggysteve
    If you do not have rim tape already fitted then yes tape is required, and any tools required I have already mentioned above. Make sure you have the correct spacer though. Looking at the wheels its probably not required on a Sram cassette but having never used them I would wait to see if a 1mm spacer is like on a shimano cassette. Someone here will surely know.
  • imposter2.0
    andy 3654 wrote:
    this is what i bought but just the wheels

http://shop.kinetic-two.co.uk/overstock ... s-97-p.asp

urgh - why?
  • andy 3654
    why what be more specific please?
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    Lovely looking wheel and a fair price, but I cannot see what these would be an upgrade too Given the weight and low spec. You can get all the tools for about 25 quid in one of the bike kits available in halfords, argos, lidl etc.
  • imposter2.0
    andy 3654 wrote:
    why what be more specific please?