average speeds

surfatwork
surfatwork Posts: 82
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
yes, yet another one on speeds....

I have been cycling for about 5 months. I am 42, reasonably fit, live in Surrey, and ride a Scott S30 with 23mm tyres. Its not too hilly, but neither is it flat. There are days when I struggle and there are days when I really enjoy it.
I see posts here everyday on riders who average 16/18/20/+++ mph - I grant that some of these are very experienced riders, but some of them are beginners like me.
so here's the question - so how come I average between 15 and 15.5 over a 20mile - 40 mile ride? Its not something that's bothering me overly - as I said, I am enjoying the cycling, but I'd just like to know. and no, its not killing me that others are faster.
2011 Scott S30
2004 Trek 4500
2009 Trek 7.1

Comments

• NewTTer
    NewTTer Posts: 463
    They pedal faster
  • Whufcrule
    Whufcrule Posts: 131
    hi mate like ya self im pretty new to road cycling as well prob 8 moths now and my average speed is normally 16mph think i have got to 17mph once and like ya self im struggling to get any faster but im sure it will come like everything else just keep it up im sure well get there
  • snowjho
    snowjho Posts: 108
    NewTTer wrote:
    They pedal faster

Not necessarily...

To the OP I'm with you on approx 15mph ave. I think quite a few here are the same just don't shout about it too much.I'd not pay much attention and keep cycling
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    surfatwork wrote:

I have been cycling for about 5 months. I am 42, reasonably fit, live in Surrey, and ride a Scott S30 with 23mm tyres. Its not too hilly, but neither is it flat. There are days when I struggle and there are days when I really enjoy it.
    I see posts here everyday on riders who average 16/18/20/+++ mph - I grant that some of these are very experienced riders, but some of them are beginners like me.