Easy on folding tyre

Slo Mo Jones
Slo Mo Jones Posts: 272
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Thought it would be good idea to get some new tyres in preparation for my forst 100 miler at RL100 at the weekend. Got some boring Continental GP4000s. Problem was they were an unbelievable bummer to get on the wheel. I'm just a beginner and only ever had to put a tube+tyre on once and managed that (schwalbe lugano) pretty easily by the roadside. After two exploding Conti race innner tubes I gave up and let the LBS sort it out.

However I'm a bit worried that now, if I do get a puncture on Sunday, I'm going to be completely screwed as I'll be unable to get the thing onto the wheel. Which will ruin my day somewhat.

So, my cunning plan is to buy a folding tyre renowned for being dead easy to get onto the wheel, even if it is a bit rubbish performance wise, and carry that with me for emergencies.

Know you of any such tyre?

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Sounds like the problem is in your fitting ability - as opposed to an issue with the tyres themselves. In any case, taking a spare tyre on your ride seems excessive, IMO...
  • Slo Mo Jones
    Imposter wrote:
    Sounds like the problem is in your fitting ability - as opposed to an issue with the tyres themselves. In any case, taking a spare tyre on your ride seems excessive, IMO...

Thanks for that, you complete nugget. I'm fully aware that I'm pants at fitting tyres, a fact alluded to by my reference to the fact that I've fitted one tyre in my life.
  • imposter2.0
    Imposter wrote:

Thanks for that, you complete nugget. I'm fully aware that I'm pants at fitting tyres, a fact alluded to by my reference to the fact that I've fitted one tyre in my life.