Any Doc's/medics here? V low RHR

rebsn
rebsn Posts: 4
Hi

I've recently been reading my RHR and it's often in the high 30/low 40 range.

I've been cycling for around 6 months now and would class myself as being moderately fit, but not super fit as my heart rate would suggest! When I do exercise, I tend to have a high HR in respect to the intensity of the work (brisk walking usually gets me in the 130s).

I'm 24, female and small build. Don't really want to go to the docs about it as I'm not sure there's anything 'wrong', but does this seem strange to anyone else?

Comments

• zardoz
    zardoz Posts: 251
    Assuming you are not on any medication low RHR can be due to a number of things like hypothyroidism or having too much Potassium in your bloodstream but most likely is just that you are reasonably fit and that is just the rate for you. Mine is now around 48 (I'm slightly older than you at 57..) but when I was a competetive athlete it was around 40 its just a sign that your heart is working efficiently.

If you are not experiencing any other symptoms like fainting or dizzy spells then there is almost certainly nothing to worry about but if it is concerning you then make a trip to the docs it would be worthwhile to put your mind at rest.
  • I'd start worrying when it gets down to around zero or you pass out a lot
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • While low RHR is not uncommon amongst fit aerobic athletes, this is not the place for medical advice. If you are at all concerned about your health (heart or otherwise), seek out a medical professional. It might perhaps help to find one that understands athletes.
  • ut_och_cykla
    ut_och_cykla Posts: 1,594