Cervical Spondylosis shortening my rides

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
I have Cervical spondylosis a fusing of the spinal bones in my neck. So far I have reversed the stem and fitted an extender, I take 2 zapain pain killers. However after 27miles or so the pain is back. I did 34miles once and was in bits at the end. Any sensible advice would be gratefully taken.
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• frisbee
    frisbee Posts: 691
    A lot of people without neck and back conditions can still get back pain on longer rides, even a little bit of stretching makes a big difference for me.
  • mattv
    mattv Posts: 992
    Try getting a quality Bike Fit sorted. Speak to the person beforehand to see how much they know about neck/ back issues. I take Zapain for a shoulder condition, if it stops working in under 2 hours something is not right with the bike set up.
  • Rulebritania
    mattv wrote:
    Try getting a quality Bike Fit sorted. Speak to the person beforehand to see how much they know about neck/ back issues. I take Zapain for a shoulder condition, if it stops working in under 2 hours something is not right with the bike set up.

Cheers mate, never though of that. Its a pain (pardon the pun)
  • Tb2121
    Tb2121 Posts: 73
    Bike fit is key, but also try to use your eyes rather than your neck to look ahead. Cervical spondylosis affects the joints of the neck- neck extension (posture on the bike)- will cause these joints to become irritated- as they come into closer proximity with each other during this movement, therefore keeping your neck in a neutral to slightly flexed position will take the load off the joints- but will require to use your eyes to look ahead of you.
  • Rulebritania
    Tb2121 wrote: