How much difference with new tyres

JimboM
JimboM Posts: 380
edited July 2013 in Road buying advice
I've got a 20mile charity ride coming up in a couple of weeks and as my training hasn't gone quite to plan I'm looking at all ways to help me complete it! My bike currently has Schwalbe Luganos on it, not sure how the rolling resistance compares on these but am I likely to notice any improvement by switching these out to something like Conti GP4000s.

Thanks

Jim
Cannondale Synapse 105
Giant FCR3
GT Avalanche 3.0
Canyon Nerve AM 6.0

Comments

• daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    I have no experience of these particular tyres but the difference can be night and day. Hopefully someone will be able to chip in.
    For example:-
    Bontranger Hardcase - Horrible, horrible wooden tyres with no grip in the wet.
    Continental 4 Season - Comfy with grip in all weathers.
    Vittorio Open Pave/Veloflex Master - Supremely comfy with good grip but expensive and cut up easily.

Horses for courses and everyone has their favourites.
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • cattytown
    cattytown Posts: 647
    Changes this close before any event are not a great idea. With the distance of 20 miles, I doubt the tyres will make a great deal of difference, and other characteristics may be offputting (even good ones).

FWIW I tried 4000s on my bike and didn't like them. I strongly suspect I had something wrong, but I found they made the bike a little skittish.

Unless you ave a real problem, stick with what's on for now.

Paul.
    Giant Defy 2
    Large bloke getting smaller :-)
  • Churchill123
    Churchill123 Posts: 341
    I put some michelin pro 4's on my bike to replace the stock tyres that the bike came with.. bike feels much much better to ride, and ultimately my average speed has increased... although im sure getting quicker is due to getting fitter and ridding more
  • JimboM
    JimboM Posts: 380