Upgrading shimano deore BR-M446, hydraulic disc brakes

Kvass
Kvass Posts: 2
edited July 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I bought Giant XTC 2012 a year ago as a commuter and since then the performance of brakes declined greatly, so I decided its time to do something about it.

First of I am a complete noob, but did a little bit of research. I've found that its time to bleed them as the levers became soft and pull right to the handlebars, I don't know if I've contaminated the rotors, but gave them a good clean with brake/clutch cleaner, pads probably need replacing too but I want to upgrade them as they never been brilliant.

So my questions are:
-what material of pads offer best performance/durability?
-I've found my brakes use B01S pads, but those are resin only?, are ther aftermarket pads that will fit that calliper?
-There is a note on my rotor "resin only", do you think they would be ok to use with other pads?
-In case of changing rotors, would any fit that brake?
-I use 160 on front and rear, weight 11 stones + water and gear, would it help if I've fitted 180 on front?
-what kind of adapter do I need in order to fit 180?

I found a couple conflicting answers to those questions so if You could clear this up for me I would be grateful.

Any advice how to improve brakes, am I missing something? Don't want to break a bank with this, after all I still think those are decent hydraulics for commuter, but I do like to go on a trail from time to time, and don't want to kill myself.

I've been looking at these rotors:

Budget but still good reviews, Tectro disc wave http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mobile/MobileModels.aspx?ModelID=34830

Pricier, avid HS1 http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mobile/MobileModels.aspx?ModelID=67568
Thanks.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599