help no brakes:-( & clueless!

ruralbob
ruralbob Posts: 4
edited July 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
hi,

Got my first bike last year and it had these Hayes Nine brakes. The little reservoir that holds the brake fluid had a slight leak and the chap I bought it off said they needed the seals replacing and bleeding. Anyway used bike and brakes fine, until I bloody fiddled earlier!!!!

I am new to all this so patience needed, i have googled and don't know the names for all the little bits i.e. caliper.

I didn't know the name of the seal to buy ?????? - HELP!, so opened the reservoir to see what it was! Now neither of my brakes work! lol. I have had the front wheel off but done nothing to the rear wheel bar open these reservoirs. Is this what buggered them????

Is it all hard and difficult to do, or if order a bleeding kit and fluid is it easy to do????

We all gotta learn one day so all help really appreciated!

cheers

Jim x

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,121
    Hydraulic brakes work by pushing the fluid down the hoses to the pistons. The fluid is a liquid and doesn't compress.

I'm guessing when you took the cap off the reservoir, you've let a load of air into the top. Air is compressible so it squashes before it pushes the fluid along the hose.

You'll need to get the air out, which is what bleeding does. I'm not familiar with Hayes brakes so I don't know exactly how to do it. Usually if you search on Google you will find instructions and videos on Youtube as well as information on what kit you need for it.

I would be surprised if the seal on the reservoir is bust. I would expect the seals on the pistons to need replacing first.
  • maringirl
    maringirl Posts: 195