Overtaking! The unnecessary politics!

ct8282
ct8282 Posts: 414
edited July 2013 in Road general
I've not long been in this game but I'm really lost as to the politics of overtaking. I see it being discussed a lot on here, and today I experienced first hand the rather sad and quite frankly unnecessary overtaking behaviour that some of you clearly think is acceptable.

I was out on a 30 mile morning ride and I was pushing myself fairly hard as I wanted to keep my average speed up. I'm a newbie to this game so my average speed was 17mph over the distance, however I was working hard and keeping my pace up as best as possible. On 2 occasions I came up behind other roadies who were travelling slower than I was. Because of what I had read on here I started over analysing what I should be doing in this situation so in the first instance I started to slow myself to sit someway behind the other cyclist. However I quickly decided that this was horse sh*t so I picked up my pace and as I pulled out to overtake I politely said good morning and was greeted by the same response as I passed. I pressed on and assumed that was that. About 300 yards on I realised the other cyclist had picked up his pace and was sitting on my wheel, putting pressure on me which made me pedal harder and I was tiring. A mile or so on we hit a hill but I had tired somewhat so he pulled out and overtook me.

About 10 miles later pretty much the same thing happened again, only this time he did not overtake me as he eventually pulled off a different side road.