Just out of interest..

Shaun67
Shaun67 Posts: 219
edited June 2013 in Road buying advice
Been looking at a couple of bikes over the past week or so and I'm not sure which I like the best,
Planext X N2A Guru with Sram Red or a Bassco Astra from Wiggle with Campagnolo Chorus.
I've had a test ride on the N2A but not the Basso. Any advice ??????

Comments

• 16mm
    16mm Posts: 545
    I've got a Campag Basso and a PX.
    The Basso is beautiful. Chorus is great.
    The PX is OK.
    No contest really.
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Basso - different class!
  • rokt
    rokt Posts: 493
    I was at the Rotherham Planet X on Friday with a mate that is looking at the N2A tour edition,
    it's the N2A Guru frame (light blue with flowers) Sram Red & FSA carbon bars,stem and chain set
    but with the cheaper Planet X brake calipers. The bike is nice and it's a bit different but is it
    worth £2.5k ???? Will Planet X not do a deal ? a good 10% off ?

I'm no expert on modern carbon bikes but if it was my money I'd go for the Basso Astra with
    Chours, just not sure on the Micro Tech finishing kit and wheels !!
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    I've had a Basso Astra since 2010 and it still rides like new. I have a SRAM Red/Force combination on mine simply because I like how SRAM operate and they fit my hands better. I also have FSA Plasma integrated bars and Mavic wheels but the Microtech stuff is ok. The Basso is a focused bike so don't go expecting too much comfort. There's oodles of front end feel though as a consequence. Be sure to check the Basso sizing chart as Basso tend to measure from the seat tube and not the top tube.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • edten
    edten Posts: 228
    +1 for the Basso. I find the Planet X stuff very bland. The chorus kit on the Basso is great stuff and the finishing kit can be easily swapped out without too much expense.
  • galatzo