Wheels for a Caad 8

Davdandy
Davdandy Posts: 571
edited June 2013 in Road buying advice
Like many others on here i am thinking about changing my wheels on my Caad 8,i am currently using the stock Maddux RS 3.0.

The front wheel feels sluggish now that i have had it a few months and was wondering what set to buy next.The usual money issues arise though and would only be able to spend maybe £150,family life must come first.

Also,and please no abuse from the pros here,what real noticeable difference would they make,i have noticed on the current wheels that they do not `free wheel` very good,it is like the brake are slowing them down,of course the brakes are not touching but you know what i mean.Would any new wheels ride smoother and roll better for that price bracket.
Cannondale CAAD 8 105
Rockrider 8.1

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I have no experience of your wheelset, but spending £150 may not get you a better wheel at all. If the wheels are genuinely not spinning freely you'd be better off just servicing the bearings.

If they are cup and cone you can strip, clean, regrease and fit new ball bearings for a couple of quid. Careful with the cone spanners though; better slightly loose than too tight.

If they are cartridge bearings and they've worn out it's even simpler to replace them, if a little dearer.

What tyres / tubes are you using? Switching to a lighter, more supple tyre and tube can often make a significant difference to the ride.
  • Davdandy
    The tyres are Continental Gatorskins,not sure which ones.The inners are Continental race bikes 700x23.
    Cannondale CAAD 8 105
    Rockrider 8.1
  • Schobiedoo
    Schobiedoo Posts: 121