Moving to the land of bicycles.

mattbass789
mattbass789 Posts: 355
edited June 2013 in The cake stop
Hi All,

Going out on a bit of limb here, but here goes.

My other half, the better half of me let it be said, recently was placed out in Amsterdam for work. She's loving it over there, cycling to work to the shops to nightclubs and so on. In short it is looking like she is going to be out there for at least another year. Then longer, if possible.

My questions are:
Does anyone know the best ways of going about emigrating? It's never something I've considered but am very excited by.
Does anyone know of the best ways to find work. I graduated from uni in 2012, from a marketing degree, just under a year ago. Have been working in the sport/health industry for the last 6 months, for a pan european company. Have a year's internship as part of my degree under my belt, for an international firm. and have done consultancy work alongside.

Does anyone have any other experience in doing this?

Really welcome any thoughts, advice or people's experience in this area.
Thanks
Matt.
“If you worried about falling off the bike, you’d never get on.”

@mattbeedham

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,121
    Does your current employer have an office in Amsterdam that you could ask to be transferred to?
  • simonhead
    simonhead Posts: 1,399
    Holland is a very easy place to live and work in. That being said unless you are in a technical industry (oil and gas for example) employers will expect you to learn Dutch. Start learning now. build up connections through joining professional groups on linked in and start listing British companies with a major presence in the area.mail me if you need any further help or want your cv critiqued
    Life isnt like a box of chocolates, its like a bag of pic n mix.
  • mattbass789