total noob here guys help

pthackeray22
pthackeray22 Posts: 8
edited July 2013 in MTB beginners
im currently looking for a decent mtb for commuting and some light trails, ive seen a few but don't actually no whats good and whats not, (im a car man) can anyone help got about 350 to 450 to spend,

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    There is a section called Buying Advice, and a sticky at the top of that.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I did have a look through but some of the stuff mentioned when I looked at the mtbs means sod all to me,
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    So ask in 'Buying advice'.....and ask specific questions on points you don't understand.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Go to Halfords and buy the most expensive Carrera or Voodoo hardtail bike (ie suspension forks no rear suspension) you can afford on your budget. Or go to Decathlon and do the same with the most expensive Decathlon. Dont buy a full suspension bike at your budget it will be a useless piece of iron. Ask if the shop will do you a deal on a helmet, a lock, some cycling shorts, gloves, a mini tool and a pump. You should get a decent package for £450 and it will be a good starter for if you get properly hooked.

Read the Partools maintenance website and learn how to adjust gears and brakes and generally look after the bike.

Ride then ride a bit more and when you have finished riding plan the next ride.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • I've ended up with a Scott voltage 2013 from my local bike shop and I'm happy to say the least
  • The Rookie
    The Voltage is a whole range of bikes...so which one!