Speedplay Pedals???

Mark Elvin
Mark Elvin Posts: 997
edited August 2013 in Road buying advice
anybody got any experience of Speedplay pedals? looking at some as an upgrade from my Shimano road pedals & was after onions on them please?
2012 Cannondale Synapse

Comments

• I love them. I've been riding them for years now, since 1996 and wouldn't look back. They so light in comparison to others, dead easy to clip into, the float while massive at 15deg is adjustable in some models. They do require maintainence buy that's not that hard. The only downside is the cleats are expensive to replace: that said they last for ages in comparison.
  • rozzer32
    rozzer32 Posts: 3,823
    I love them. Had Shimano SPD-SL then moved to Speedplay. Got some Look Keo Blades on the cheap but after a week I'd gone back to Speedplay. I think they are the best pedal system on the market, just make sure you get the cleat coffee stop covers to protect the cleats when you're walking.
    ***** Pro Tour Pundit Champion 2020, 2018, 2017 & 2011 *****
  • I love them - by far the best biomechanically for knees and a lot of the stuff posted about wear and maintenance is bolloc*s - just grease the pedals through the port regularly (obviously depends on weather etc but when lubed well they won't spin beyond one rev when flipped) and clean and lube the cleats every now and again and they are sweet.
  • petemadoc
    petemadoc Posts: 2,331
    Yep

Love speed play here
  • neeb
    neeb Posts: 4,467
    I'm a fan too for the usual reasons. Only thing I'll say against them (and it's actually a bit of a problem if you live in Finland) is that they are useless in snow. You basically get a plug of compacted snow in the cleat as soon as you unclip and put your foot down, and then you can't engage...
  • Mark Elvin
    Mark Elvin Posts: 997
    Stainless Zeros purchased, thanks for the input guys
    2012 Cannondale Synapse
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    They so light in comparison to others