Dual Carriageways

acook59
acook59 Posts: 3
edited June 2013 in Commuting general
Hey guys,

I'm new to road cycling and indeed to cycling to commute. Thus i have a question. On my way, the last leg of my route involves emerging from a single carriageway left onto a dual carriageway through traffic lights. I then when driving have to merge into the right most lane as up ahead in an island which i go straight ahead at but immediately after that there is a right turn i must take. When on a bike, am i allowed to go into the right lane on the dual carriageway as normal or not?

Comments

• Gizmo_
    Gizmo_ Posts: 558
    Technically yes. However - assuming you mean a de-restricted 70mph dual carriageway I'd say that sounds like a risky manoeuvre and if there's another option you should consider it.

Find the location on Google Streetview and post it up so we can see?
    Scott Sportster P45 2008 | Cannondale CAAD8 Tiagra 2012
  • acook59
    acook59 Posts: 3
    If you go to google maps and type in coventry road tyseley, you'll see from kings road, you turn right onto the dual carriageway which is coventry road, go over the island and then immediately you can turn right in a special lane onto heybarnes road, i'm not sure how to get it up on this post?
  • roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    Assume it's here? http://goo.gl/maps/7XRv9

Need to be fast and confident for that type of roads really, if your not comfortable and frankly urban fast dual carriage ways are hardly fun! there are alternatives east and west.

Locally to me is the A316 which I avoid if I can help it.
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    It's showing as a 30 so shouldn't be dangerous. Cyclecraft by John Franklyn has a very good section about turning right on busy roads and dual c/ways. It's a good read and worth buying - I won't try to paraphrase it here from memory but it's £8 well-spent on Amazon.
  • alex_uk
    alex_uk Posts: 56
    Assume it's here? http://goo.gl/maps/7XRv9