Advice on front/back tyres please

adamCCC
adamCCC Posts: 26
edited June 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi,

My back tyre is pretty bare now so I decided to get the Maxxis Larsen TT XC as the replacement (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=78374).

I chose this as ive found myself cycling about 70% toe path and 30% trail, with the view to them hopefully being a bit quicker and more suited to tarmac.

I'm new to the world of mountain biking, but it just dawned on me that I would surely need both the front and back tyres to be the same to benefit from any additional speed etc that the maxxis larsen could offer over my current tyres.

My current tyres are continental speed kings, 2.3 (came with the bike) and the maxxis are 2.0. Will I need to replace the front tyre aswell?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    No.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I have cheap off road tyres so I cant comment.
  • adamCCC
    not an overly informative reply!

surely if the front tyre is wider and has more tread it wont be as fast at the new, slimmer less grippy back tyre and therefore reduce overall speed?
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    adamCCC wrote:

surely if the front tyre is wider and has more tread it wont be as fast at the new, slimmer less grippy back tyre and therefore reduce overall speed?

I cant help my tyres were cheaper then what you linked there reasonably grippy still have a bit of slide of road but it makes cornering more fun. :P

trying tagging cool dad or something with a bit more knowledge then me.
  • adamCCC
    adamCCC wrote:

I cant help my tyres were cheaper then what you linked there reasonably grippy still have a bit of slide of road but it makes cornering more fun. :P

trying tagging cool dad or something with a bit more knowledge then me.