Question about handle bars

stevetaylor20
stevetaylor20 Posts: 22
edited June 2013 in Road buying advice
I am fairly new to getting into cycling but I like it. I cycle to work every day on a specialized sirrus comp that has straight handle bars. The bike does seem pretty good and light. I want to get into road cycling events like london to oxford etc and also much tougher events. So my question is based upon that info is that I NEED (and prefer) this bike's straight handle bars for cycling through london right, and purely for space reasons i'd prefer NOT to buy a second bike, so would you:

a) Deem this bike I have acceptable for tough events on the road and buy some drop down handle bars, assuming these events require drop down handles bars, and in that case do nothing...

b) Sell this bike and..?!

Thanks!

Comments

• 16mm
    16mm Posts: 545
    It's not as simple as just changing the handlebars. The top tube length is usually longer on flat bar bikes.

Plus you'd need new shifters.

But you don't need drop bars.
  • chris_bass
    chris_bass Posts: 4,913
    if you need and prefer flat handle bars why are you looking to get drop bars?

but ignoring all that.... I dont think it would be an easy (or cost effective) exercise to swap flat bars for drops, you'd need new shifters and depending on your front and rear mech compatibility possibly them as well. Also if the bike isnt set up for drops the handling would be effected.

if you want to get drops i'd sell your bike and buy a new one (well i'd keep the old one and buy a new one!)
    www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    Chris Bass wrote:
    if you need and prefer flat handle bars why are you looking to get drop bars?