What Road Bike?

Comments

• compo
    compo Posts: 1,370
    wingnuts77 wrote:
    Hi,

New here but need advise.

Ali or steel frame for a road bike to commute via the C2W scheme around £1000.

A friend at work suggests steel but I have no idea, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Wingnuts

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/article/best-road-bikes-under-1000-29719/
  • Hi I am new to cycling and am looking at buying my son a road bike. I have seen a Specialized Allez 2009 up for say for £200 is this a good price or should I be looking at something else?

Thanks!
  • Kurowsk1
    Kurowsk1 Posts: 3
    I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice.

I am looking to buy my first modern road bike and I have two options really:

The classically recommended on here, Triban 3. £299.

or
    Frame- Ribble ultralite racing (alloy) size 52.5
    Fork- Prolite carbon
    Derallieurs- Shimano 2300
    Cassette/Chain- Shimano Tiagra 8 speed 12-25
    Crank- Bontrager sport triple 30-42-52
    Shifters- Shimano Sora
    Bars/stem/ seatpost- Bontrager sport.
    F/wheel- Campagnolo (campagnolo veloce hub)
    R/wheel- Bontrager (off Trek madone)- Only done 35miles.
    Brakes- Unbranded alloy, from Trek 1000

From my friend for about £250 odd.

The story for his bike is as follows:
    In 2011 I had a Trek 1000 and the frame cracked so I bought the Ribble frame /fork (£220) to replace it.
    In September 2012 I got a Trek madone for my 21st and therefore the Ultralite became redundant. I decided to take the wheels off the ultralite (because I had built them myself and they had shimano 105 hubs that I wanted to keep) to put on the old winter training bike I have.
    The next day I crashed the madone, writing off some parts but leaving others unscathed- The rear wheel was fine so I put it on the Ultralite. (Got new madone so didn’t need old back wheel).