Wheel recommendation please

elffy
elffy Posts: 98
edited June 2013 in Road buying advice
Can anyone recommend me a decent clincher wheelset for approx £1500? I'm sure this topic has been discussed to death on the forum but I'm sure it's easier to ask than search through all the topics when dealing with a specific amount to spend.

Thanks

Comments

• pkripper
    pkripper Posts: 652
    More information needed than just budget. Plenty out there.
  • elffy
    Sorry pkripper, what additional information would help in recommendation?
  • pkripper
    pkripper Posts: 652
    Well, what you want to use them for would be a start.
  • elffy
    I'm just a novice cyclist who cycles a few charity events and a few sportives a year.
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    You don't have to spend £1500 to get a decent clincher. you can spend less than £250 for that or £500 or more. It is requirements that dicate that.

One chaps requirement recently has been for Mavic Open Pro's, Novatec hubs and Sapim Laser spokes/alloy nipplesand it cost well under £300 another customer had other requirements and his build is setting back over £500.

Can't see the point myself on £1500 wheel for a few sportives a year, but hey you may have the cash and may want the look of wheels that cost £1500. Just don't exepct £1500 wheels to perform much better than much cheaper wheels for the riding you are doing or to weigh any less. One of my many wheel sets weigh less than 1400g, are reliable (so far) and cost under £300 to customers. Weight is not everything though and there are downside to these wheels notably I dare not ride them in wet/filthy weather and I must use soft brake pads or else!
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    elffy wrote:
    I'm just a novice cyclist who cycles a few charity events and a few sportives a year.