Wobbly single track

Ben_morris
Ben_morris Posts: 61
edited June 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi,

I can not ride narrow single track (up hill) for sh*t. I can not keep in a straight line. Im fine down hill just up hill.

Any advice or would a MTB biking coarse be a worth while investment? Ive been out of biking for a good few years and started back a few month ago. I upgraded my bike as i do intended to go out at least 2 or 3 times a week.

Noob here. :oops:

Ben.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Does it matter?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Ben_morris
    Yeh, because its annoying. Esp when my mates can fly up and im frigging about at the bottom.
  • cooldad
    If they are flying up, they are going fast and it's much easier to keep a bike straight at speed.
    Sounds like you just need to work on strength/fitness so you can fly up as well.
    Just get in a low gear and spin. And keep your weight forward.
    If it's a short hill stand.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    Skills course won't do anything. Just practice.
  • 16mm
    16mm Posts: 545
    Get your mates to advise? Assuming they're not just gonna take the piss.
    You need riding mates who will give you good, accurate feedback. Then you'll all get better much quicker.
  • Ben_morris
    I went out on my own tonight and i was pretty poor. I will get them to stand watch and see if i am doing something obv wrong,

i probably just need to get out more and on steeper stuff and practise.

ben
  • bennett_346
    Is it a fitness issue or are you scared? If it's fitness just ride more and you'll get better, but if you're actually scared of a certain thing you need to think about it a bit more and build up some courage as just continuing with bad habits won't help in the long run.
  • Ben_morris