saddles chamois cream and sores!

marcusww
marcusww Posts: 202
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Having been through 3 saddles I am interested to hear of others experiences and recommendations.
I started riding in december and have done 1400 road miles with many 50 / 60 milers and a 93 and 102 mile.

When I first had the bike it came with a spesh toupe 143mm and did many 30 - 40 milers with no issue. After a mini bike fit at spesh they measured me up for a 155mm phenom saddle - this seemed more efficient but after a 1st 60 mile I was getting sore in the sit bone area. Changed the saddle to an avatar with more padding but this really caused some serious aching after a 93 miler so ditched that and went back to the phenom for the 102 mile. There was just sore areas and used some sudo cream on that ride. Changed to a 155mm Toupe and seems a little better. I still get red sores after 50 + miles but this clears up after 2 days. The skin never breaks but I just end up moving around a lot on the saddle. I have heard of people getting serious weeping sores and require antibiotics etc. Can my lesser sores be cleared up with more riding (getting hardened to it) or good shorts or a different saddle? I ride with Altura ergo fit bibs with gel chamois, any suggestions or recommendations would be most welcome.

Comments

• owenlars
    owenlars Posts: 719
    Why not put the original Toupe back on if that worked for you?
  • thegreatdivide
    thegreatdivide Posts: 5,802
    Firstly – IMO Sudocrem is not good for a back side on a saddle. It’s a thick, oily, antiseptic cream. Neither is Vaseline. Both get bandied about on forums as an alternative to chamois cream. PLEASE ignore these suggestions! For long distances, especially long distances ridden on a hot day, you want a cycle specific bum butter ;-) Look at the consistency of something like Assos’ chamois cream and then a tub of Sudocrem – the latter even looks comfortable!